Faculty Senate Minutes Clarion University 4/26/21

Faculty Senate met on April 26, 2021, for the first session of the 2021-2022 Senate, via zoom. J. Knaust chaired the meeting, with the following senators present: V. Aravind, S. Boyden, J. Croskey, N. Dias, E. Foster, L. Fulton, H. Hampikian, J. Knaust, D. Knepp, M. Lepore, A. Love, J. Lyle, J. May, M. K. McConnell, N. O'Neil, S. Prezzano, A. Roberts, A. Rosati, A. Shannonhouse, R. Shawgo, B. Sweet, L. Taylor, J. Walsh, P. Woodburne.

D. Pehrsson, P. Gent, S. Spang (student senate), were also present.

- I. Call to Order J. Knaust called the meeting to order at 4:30.
- II. Approval of the Minutes
- III. Announcements
- IV. President's Report--D. Pehrsson
- V. Provost Report—P. Gent
- VI. Student Senate S. Spang
- VII. Committee Reports.
 - A. CCPS B. Sweet
 - B. Student Affairs -
 - C. CCR M. McConnell
 - D. Academic Standards -
 - E. Budget -
 - F Faculty Affairs -
 - G. Institutional Resources -
 - H. Venango -
- VIII. Old Business None

- IX. New Business
 - 1. Election of officers, Secretary

Chair, Faculty Senate

P. Woodburne moved to nominate J. Knaust for Chair of Faculty Senate. E. Foster seconded.
B. Sweet moved and A. Roberts seconded to close nominations. Vote called. J. Knaust elected Chair Faculty Senate.

Vice Chair, Faculty Senate

 A. Roberts moved to nominate M. McConnell for Vice-chair, Faculty Senate. J. May seconded. B. Sweet moved and L. Taylor seconded to close nominations. Vote called. M. McConnell elected Vice Chair, Faculty Senate

Membership on CCR (Vice Chair of Senate is Chair of CCR)

N. Dias and A. Love self-nominated for membership on CCR. A. Roberts seconded. B. Sweet moved to close nominations, L. Taylor seconded to close nominations. Vote called. N. Dias and A. Love elected to CCR.

Secretary of Faculty Senate

- For Secretary of Senate, E. Foster moved and A Roberts seconded P. Woodburne for Secretary. B. Sweet moved to close nominations, J. Croskey seconded. Vote called. P. Woodburne elected Secretary of Faculty Senate (with all the rights and privileges adhering thereto).
- J. Knaust, as returning Chair of Senate, will fill remaining committee chairs for membership on Policy.
- 2. Statement of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. J. Croskey, J. Walsh, E. Foster, M. McConnell, and J. Knaust will join R. Laugand in the creation of a statement to be included on all syllabi.
- X. For the good of the Order
- XI. Adjournment B. Sweet moved (J. Croskey seconded). Unanimous passage by hitting the 'end of zoom meeting' button.